adults and children’s committee


Wednesday 21 June 2017




In attendance: Councillor Richard Hudson (Co Chair), Councillor Cathy Roberts (Co Chair) and Councillors Sushila Abraham, Patricia Bamford, Linsey Cottington, Andrew Day (attending as substitute for Councillor Ian George), David Fraser, Eric Humphrey,

Rebekah Moll, Maria Netley, Terry Paton, and Margaret Thompson


Set out below is a summary of the decisions taken at the meeting of Adults and Children’s  Committee.  The wording used does not necessarily reflect the actual wording that will appear in the minutes.




1.            Children and Young People's Plan



Resolved that the Children and Young People’s Plan 2017-2020 attached in Annex 1 to the report is approved as the overarching strategic plan for services for children and young people in Kingston.


2.            Youth Provision update



Resolved that the update on the modernisation of the delivery of youth work in Kingston is noted and a further review of progress is reported to the Committee in 12 months’ time.


3.            Parental Contribution Policy



Resolved that -

1. the Parental Contribution Policy at Annex 1 to the report is approved; and

2. the Policy is implemented by Achieving for Children on behalf of the local authority from 1 September 2017.


4.         Appointments to Internal Working Groups                                        



Resolved that Members are appointed to the following Member Working Groups for 2017/18:

·           Strategic Community Sports and Physical Activity Network (CSPAN) – Councillor Andy Johnson-Creek

·           Armed Forces Community Covenant Working Group - Councillor Ken Smith and Councillor Margaret Thompson

·           Air Quality Working Group (with revised remit ref. para D of the report) – Councillor Cathy Roberts, Councillor Hilary Gander and Councillor Linsey Cottington


5.            Minutes of Joint Committee for Achieving for Children –

8 February 2017 and 20 March 2017


Resolved that the matters set out in the Minutes be noted.




Councillor Richard Hudson and

Councillor Cathy Roberts

Co Chairs